Good will, politeness & credibility

20140605-074723-28043632.jpg

This post is inspired by “Good Will Huntin‘” done by the lovely Julie Drybrough and it’s because when I read her ace post I wanted to pick up on all the emotion and credibility content that is wrapped up inside it.

One of the things that Jools discusses is how people are grappling with the feeling they have lost something and how that is affecting their sense of purpose as they were ‘being had’. Emotion(s) can be triggered by real, imagined or metaphorical stuff so a sense or a perception is a very real trigger. If we also consider that the universal trigger for sadness is ‘loss of a valued person or object’ then what we have here is loss of an individuals sense of identity or role, of not being able to ‘do what I do’.

That is important, no vital for us to understand if we are going to link good will to engagement as both Jools does in her post and as Margaret Burnside does in her comments.

What I am suggesting is:

Taking away an individuals ability to proceed unimpeded and having a sense of being approved of, runs a huge risk of creating a sad person>people>workforce. Sad people aren’t engaged, so stop it….. Now.

What I have done above is link an emotional response to a trigger. I am also saying that other emotions can be triggered too and some of them won’t be great either, at least not for engagement anyway.

The other aspect I want to kick around some more is the idea of politeness and how that can come into play too. Jools talks about:

“…. being generous (and I don’t mean with wages, though sure – go ahead and do that too) compassionate, considerate and… well just kind of basically polite to the people we work with actually goes a long way to making folk want to take part in organisational life.”

I agree wholeheartedly and I want to take this is idea and make it bigger. What if politeness was linked to credibility?

I think the two aspects I refer to in my little indented quotation above (people’s sense of being approved of and able to proceed unimpeded to do what they are good at) has a massive link to credibility.

Think of someone you know (past or present) and who you class as credible.

Got them?

Good.

Now answer these questions:

1. Is that person great at what they do and are believed in and supported by others to do just that?
2. Are they are allowed to just be themselves and go and get it?

In which case, if we want those we interact with to be credible, this is what we need to do. It’s simple, it’s polite, it builds good will, it cares about the person and (in my view) it makes people happy.

Why am I here? Because I am all about creating happiness.

Thank you Jools for a great post and sparking off what I hope is another worthwhile sibling to sit alongside it.

Be happy 😀
20140605-074723-28043788.jpg

Leave a Reply

